Teresa Gallik Acclaimed as Chair

Trustees acclaimed Teresa Gallik as Chair and Mike Favreau as Vice Chair
Posted on 12/16/2020
Teresa Gallik and Mike Favreau

Teresa Gallik and Mike FavreauAt the Annual Board Meeting on December 15, 2020, Trustees elected the Chair and Vice Chair for the upcoming year. This is an annual process that occurs every December, with the seven KCDSB Trustees choosing from within their colleagues for these roles.

Trustees acclaimed incumbent Teresa Gallik as Chair for 2021 and acclaimed incumbent Mike Favreau as Vice Chair for 2021. Gallik is entering her third term as Chair, and Favreau is entering his second term as Vice Chair; combined, the pair has over 40 years of experience on the Board of Trustees.

In her opening comments, Teresa Gallik thanked her colleagues for their support, particularly during the profound disruption caused by the pandemic.


"As I take on my third year as Chair of the Kenora Catholic District School Board, I want to express my sincerest appreciation to my fellow Trustees for their continued support and guidance throughout the 2020 year. In this year of profound disruption to education, I am humbled and honoured by our collective efforts to safely open schools during a global pandemic, launch a new virtual school – St. Isidore, implement health and safety protocols to keep students and staff safe, appoint and welcome a new Director of Education, and continue to strive towards our strategic goals of Growing, Investing, and Engaging to the benefit of our students and the Glory of God. This has been a year like no other, but we have worked together to overcome many challenges while moving student achievement and well-being forward. We will continue to focus our efforts on these important goals as we strengthen Catholic education across the system.”  - Teresa Gallik

Quick Facts:

  • According to the Board's by-laws, elections to the office of Chair and Vice Chair of the Board takes place at the annual Board Meeting in December of each year.
  • Kenora Catholic's Board of Trustees consists of six elected Trustees, one First Nation Trustee.
  • The Board also has two student trustees who are elected by students of St. Thomas Aquinas High School and represent the voice and views of students.
  • The term of the current Board of Trustees commenced on December 1, 2018 and will end on November 14, 2022.
  • The Board of Trustees meets the first Tuesday of each month for Policy Governance Committee Meetings and every third Tuesday of each month for their Regular Board Meetings
  • Teresa Gallik has been a Kenora Catholic Trustee since 2003, and Mike Favreau started with the Board in 1996.

Following the Christmas Break, the next Board of Trustees meeting will be held on Tuesday, January 19, 2021.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.